La nuova politica di vicinato europea nel Mediterraneo dopo le primavere arabe. The Revised European Neighbourhood Policy in the Mediterranean after the Arab Spring.

La nuova politica di vicinato europea nel Mediterraneo dopo le primavere arabe. The Revised European Neighbourhood Policy in the Mediterranean after the Arab Spring.

I rapporti tra l’Unione Europea e i paesi mediterranei del Nord Africa e del Vicino oriente hanno vissuto fasi alterne nel corso degli ultimi 25 anni, oscillando tra slanci di idealismo e momenti di più pragmatico realismo. Le “Primavere arabe” hanno spinto l’UE ad elaborare una contro-strategia che coniugasse al meglio la necessità di sostenere i processi di democratizzazione con il bisogno di rinvigorire la sicurezza delle frontiere esterne.


Dopo la fine della Guerra fredda, si era diffusa la tendenza di definire le relazioni internazionali in base a schemi e alleanze regionali, basate su elementi comuni da un punto di vista storico, geografico e istituzionale. L’idea di un Partenariato per il Mediterraneo, lanciato nel 1995 nel corso del “processo di Barcellona”, ha disatteso la sua promessa più ambiziosa, cioè la creazione di un dialogo mediterraneo multilaterale almeno in tre settori chiave (economico-commerciale, securitario, culturale)[1]. Alcuni obiettivi erano probabilmente troppo difficili da raggiungere a breve termine, soprattutto la definizione di un’area di libero scambio (EU-MEFTA) entro il 2010, che non ha visto nascere progressi di rilievo. Meno ostacoli sono stati trovati invece per l’instaurazione di una zona di pace e stabilità, come ribadito nel 2002 alla Conferenza Euro-Med di Valencia[2], per via della maggiore convergenza di interessi e di obiettivi manifestata dagli attori in questione.

La fase di stallo nel processo di regionalizzazione euro-mediterranea registrata all’inizio del decennio scorso spinse le istituzioni comunitarie a tratteggiare nuovi strumenti di partenariato.

La Politica Europea di Vicinato del 2003 fu varata per rispondere in modo più efficace alle nuove sfide nel “Mediterraneo allargato”, oltre che in qualità di dispositivo complementare al grande allargamento del 2004, rivolto più a Est che a Sud. Tre furono gli obiettivi cardine della PEV, come si evince dalle Comunicazioni della Commissione adottate in materia[3]:

  • Favorire una maggiore cooperazione economica, ispirata ad accordi bilaterali più facilmente definibili (gli Strategy Paper), implementabili attraverso le risorse messe a disposizione dallo European Neighbourhood Partnership Instrument (ENPI);
  • Prevenire l’emergere di barriere con il nuovo vicinato, includendo sei paesi dell’Est (Ucraina, Moldova, Bielorussia, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaigian) e dieci paesi del Mediterraneo (Marocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libia, Egitto, Siria, Libano, Giordania, Israele, Autorità Nazionale Palestinese);
  • Rinforzare la sfera securitaria, tramite maggiori controlli alle frontiere esterne: un bisogno ancora più avvertito dopo l’ondata di paura suscitata dagli attentati dell’11 Settembre. Secondo alcuni autori critici[4], la Politica di Vicinato sarebbe stata largamente ispirata alla European Security Strategy del 2003, il che rileva di quanto gli imperativi della sicurezza abbiano guidato l’azione dell’UE nel suo vicinato, orientata al pattugliamento della frontiera e alla protezione dei suoi interessi economico-commerciali.

Malgrado la pretesa di definire un contorno normativo unico, la PEV è stata necessariamente declinata a geometria variabile, a causa delle differenze enormi tra i paesi coinvolti, sia per quanto concerne le due macro-aree geografiche sia all’interno delle stesse. Questa diversità d’approccio ha condotto i decisori europei ad un bilanciamento tra dichiarazioni di principi comuni e particolarità dei singoli Stati[5], portando di volta in volta a enfatizzare aspetti diversi su cui basare i rapporti di vicinato. Una certa incoerenza con alcuni principi di fondo dell’UE (supporto alla liberal-democrazia, rispetto della rule of law e dei diritti umani) si sarebbe manifestata in merito al criterio della “condizionalità positiva”, principio secondo il quale i fondi sarebbero stati assegnati proporzionalmente all’impegno dei vicini verso riforme tendenti ad avvicinare il loro quadro legislativo all’acquis comunitario. La convergenza amministrativa in alcuni settori (economico-commerciale, sicurezza, ambiente) è stata ritenuta da alcuni autori come un esito positivo della governance esterna[6] dell’UE e degli sforzi di europeizzazione condotti nel “cerchio di paesi amici” del vicinato. Eppure, il focus sull’avvicinamento burocratico e regolamentario non ha impedito all’UE di continuare a tessere relazioni cordiali con i regimi meno inclini a promuovere processi di democratizzazione[7].

Andando nello specifico, per quanto riguarda l’utilizzo dei fondi non si notano delle grosse differenze tra l’ENPI e il MEDA, cioè il programma previsto a Barcellona nel 1995[8]. Bisogna poi ricordare che 2/3 delle risorse della PEV sono state stanziate per i paesi mediterranei, aventi il doppio della popolazione rispetto all’Est Europa[9]. L’area chiave a cui sono state destinate le risorse resta sempre quella dello sviluppo economico e commerciale (40% fondi MEDA, 36% ENPI), seguita dal settore dei servizi di utilità sociale (come l’educazione e la salute, 20% circa di entrambi i programmi) e dal settore delle infrastrutture (22% MEDA, quasi 20% ENPI). Meno fondi invece sono stati spesi per altre questioni di importanza comunque notevole quali i processi di democratizzazione e di governance e le questioni umanitarie.

Analizzando la PEV dalla prospettiva di chi studia o cerca di scoprire se esista una politica estera dell’UE, si evincono alcune conseguenze:

  • L’UE cerca di porsi come un attore unitario, ma è evidente una certa frammentazione relativa al policy-making, a causa della cacofonia delle voci tra organi diversi (es. le DG della Commissione, il Consiglio, il SEAE) e tra le vedute distanti dei paesi membri[10];
  • La PEV ha avuto una natura composita ed eterogenea per via dei molteplici temi presi in conto, ma è inopinabile che vi sia stato un focus maggiore sulle questioni economiche, commerciali e securitarie rispetto alla promozione di norme e valori democratici;
  • Ciò rende il soft power comunitario più simile a quello di una potenza “civile”[11], che opera nell’arena internazionale per sviluppare il libero commercio e far schiudere opportunità legate a nuovi mercati, che ad una potenza “normativa”[12], interessata in primo luogo ad esportare i suoi valori democratici.                           

Il 2011 è stato un anno spartiacque per le relazioni tra Unione Europea e vicini del Mediterraneo. Il lancio della Revised European Neighbourhood Policy[13] ha incarnato il tentativo di superare le distorsioni della PEV e di incentrare i rapporti su un piano meno asimmetrico. La nascita di queste misure è stata indubbiamente sollecitata da due dinamiche influenti: l’una interna alle istituzioni comunitarie, relativa agli effetti del Trattato di Lisbona (nascita del Servizio Europeo di Azione Esterna e maggior rilievo dell’Alto Rappresentante per la Politica Estera e la Sicurezza Comune); l’altra esterna all’UE, legata agli sviluppi delle “primavere arabe”, che sono state lette come il simbolo di quanto l’Europa avesse avuto una visione limitata e pregiudiziale dei desideri delle popolazioni coinvolte[14]. I moti scoppiati in alcuni paesi nordafricani inclusi nella PEV hanno spinto l’UE a elaborare una contro-strategia che coniugasse al meglio la necessità di sostenere i processi di democratizzazione con il bisogno di rinvigorire la sicurezza delle frontiere esterne – ribadita peraltro nella Internal Security Strategy del 2010. A distanza di qualche anno, è possibile tracciare un breve bilancio che sconfessa parzialmente la presunta volontà europea di reimpostare le relazioni bilaterali su nuove basi.

  • Sul tema “democrazia”, la previsione di una “condizionalità negativa” che integra la logica del more for more con quella less for less, ossia di aiuti economici che possono ridursi in caso di riforme democratiche carenti, è sicuramente un elemento positivo per stimolare passi in avanti più decisi verso la convergenza normativa. Allo stesso tempo, la creazione del Civil Society Facility e dello European Endowement for Democracy è stata interpretata come una svolta verso sovvenzioni economiche ad attori non governativi della società civile, seguendo delle logiche bottom-up[15]. Ciononostante, una minima dose di Realpolitik continuerà ad informare i rapporti con i regimi meno democratici dell’area, con la finalità di assicurarsi la sicurezza dei confini di fronte ai flussi migratori e degli approvvigionamenti energetici, oltre alla lotta contro gli estremismi violenti.
  • Per ciò che concerne la sicurezza, si possono notare delle continuità palesi con la fase precedente alle sollevazioni arabe. Non v’è dubbio che la gestione dei flussi migratori e le operazioni di setacciamento dei confini esterni siano state poste in cima all’agenda di Bruxelles. Anche gli strumenti innovativi come i “partenariati di mobilità” e le politiche di liberalizzazione dei visti sono estremamente selettivi, creando limitati canali di migrazione legale e opportunità di sviluppo residuali[16]. Ciò, comunque, non dovrebbe condurre a formulare un giudizio dell’UE come potenza imperiale che usa i suoi vicini solo per servire i propri interessi imponendo pratiche egemoniche[17]. In certi casi, gli accordi negoziati dai singoli Stati membri sono avvenuti in contesti di partenza squilibrati, più vantaggiosi per i governi di alcuni paesi Nordafricani, come nel caso dell’esternalizzazione dei controlli alle frontiere libiche e dell’uso dei migranti come “strumento di politica estera” fatto abilmente da Gheddafi[18].
  • Infine, sul piano economico e commerciale, gli attori europei sono riusciti a lavorare più di concerto, coordinando al meglio le azioni delle varie DG (Trade, Development, ECFIN). Rispetto alla prima tranche dei fondi ENPI (12 miliardi di euro, 2007-2013), per il periodo 2014-2020 sono stati stanziati 18 miliardi di euro, uniti ai 350 milioni messi a disposizione dallo SRING Programme del 2011-12 – lanciato a sua volta per offrire un sostegno immediato alle transizioni democratiche in loco. Il supporto economico resta legato alla condizionalità di base (giudicata da alcuni asimmetrica[19]) che obbliga i partner del Sud del Mediterraneo ad adeguarsi agli standard europei e alla convergenza normativa. D’altronde, mettere sul piatto pratiche e programmi neoliberali non coincide con un’automatica garanzia di sviluppo per i paesi terzi del Mediterraneo, come era già emerso nel caso del processo di Barcellona. La sottoscrizione di una Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, proposto a Marocco e Tunisia, finirebbe solo per sfavorire le loro economie nel breve termine a causa dei dolorosi aggiustamenti strutturali previsti, pur con la promessa di vantaggi futuri. Peraltro, soltanto Algeria e Libia tra i paesi mediterranei inclusi nella PEV possono vantare un surplus commerciale con l’UE. Ragion per cui, l’abbattimento delle barriere commerciali, almeno le tariffarie, finirebbe per indebolire la competitività dei prodotti locali rispetto a quelli europei. Viceversa, i paesi europei continuano ad escludere i prodotti agricoli e quelli industriali di sensibile interesse nazionale da ogni tipo di accordo commerciale con i partner mediterranei. Questi moniti devono essere tenuti in considerazione ed affiancati all’ottimismo manifestato da chi sostiene i vantaggi di una maggiore integrazione economica e commerciale, che nel breve periodo potrebbe invece essere più proficua solo in altre sedi come la Arab Maghreb Union[20].                           

Conclusioni

In conclusione, sembra che la nuova Politica di Vicinato Europea contenga novità più significative sul piano della retorica e delle promesse, ma meno su quello della fattualità concreta. Gli interessi prevalenti dell’UE restano confinati a due settori chiave, cioè quello della sicurezza dei confini e quello della convergenza economico-commerciale e amministrativa, i quali rilevano di una certa asimmetria nei rapporti con i paesi partner del Sud del Mediterraneo, almeno nell’interpretazione degli autori più critici. Su entrambi i piani infatti si notano delle scelte che recano più vantaggi all’UE, visibili nella selettività degli strumenti di mobilità che creano degli smart border e nella formazione di accordi commerciali incardinati su standard europei. Malgrado queste strategie, sarebbe eccessivamente disfattista voler demolire gli approcci comunitari senza apprezzarne le intenzioni positive e i risultati favorevoli che ci si aspetta a lungo termine.

Ciò che presta il fianco alle parole dure di chi vuole decostruire la retorica europea è l’ambiguità di lunga data tra la velleità di esportare i principi dell’edificio comunitario e di sostenere la democratizzazione nei paesi partner, da un lato, e la necessità di dialogare con alcuni governi autoritari dall’altro. Questo dilemma non costituirebbe un cortocircuito ideologico se l’UE non si fosse posta per anni come “potenza normativa”, che però ad oggi è stata costretta a optare per strategie più pragmatiche per ragioni prettamente politiche, legate ai turbamenti del Mediterraneo. Sarebbe quindi più corretto parlare dell’UE in primis come “potenza civile”, interessata a presentarsi come modello economico-commerciale (del resto l’UE rappresenta l’area regionale di libero scambio più ricca del mondo), e poi come attore internazionale che supporta processi di democratizzazione dei paesi terzi, sebbene non manchino i tentativi di conciliare entrambi i fronti, come testimoniano le nuove misure sulla condizionalità “negativa”.  

Un buon punto di incontro tra afflato normativo europeo e promozione di interessi economici è rappresentato, comunque dall’indiscussa leadership europea in tema ambientale e nella lotta al cambiamento climatico. Un settore meritevole a livello valoriale, in cui le istituzioni comunitarie stanno raccogliendo risultati significativi tanto nelle politiche promosse all’interno quanto all’esterno dei suoi confini dell’Unione[21]. Gli esiti non potranno che essere vantaggiosi per entrambe le sponde del Mediterraneo, in cui, soprattutto al Sud, si verificheranno alcune delle conseguenze più preoccupanti del cambiamento climatico – siccità, inondazioni, desertificazione e degradazione del suolo.


Note

[1] {Sul cosiddetto “Processo di Barcellona” si vedano Aliboni R. (a cura di), Partenariato nel Mediterraneo. Percezioni, politiche, istituzioni, FrancoAngeli, Milano, 1998, e Attinà F., Stavridis S. (a cura di), The Barcellona Process and Euro-Mediterranean Issues from Stuttgart to Marseille, Giuffré, Milano, 2001}.

[2] {Mugnaini M., Fasi e percorsi della politica UE verso l’area mediterranea: dalla Conferenza di Barcellona alla Union pour la Méditerranée, in Beretta S., Mugnaini M. (a cura di), Politica estera dell’Italia e dimensione mediterranea: storia, diplomazia, diritti, Rubbettino, Soveria Mannelli, 2009, p. 199}.

[3]{European Commission, Wider Europe – Neighbourhood: A New Framework for Relations with our Eastern and Southern Neighbours, Brussels, COM (2003), 104 final; European Commission, European Neighbourhood Policy strategy paper, Brussels, COM (2004) 373}.

[4] {Hadfield A., ENP and EMP. The Geopolitics of “Enlargement Lite”, in Balzacq T. (a cura di) – The External Dimension of EU Justice and Home Affairs. Governance, Neighbours, Security, Palgrave Macmillan, London, 2009, pp.  65-107. Per una lettura critica della gestione “securitizzata” delle frontiere europee, si rinvia a Bigo D., Death in the Mediterranean Sea: The results of the three fields of action of European Union Border Controls, in Jansen Y., Celikates R., De Bloois J. (a cura di), The Irregularization of Migration in Contemporary Europe: Detention, Deportation, Drowning,Rowman & Littlefield, New York, 2015, pp. 55-70, e a Campesi G., Polizia della frontiera. Frontex e la produzione dello spazio europeo, DeriveApprodi, Roma, 2015}.

[5] {Celata F. Coletti R., Neighbourhood Policy and the Construction of the European External Borders, Switzerland, Springer International Publishing, 2015, pp. 4-6}.

[6] {Lavenex S., Schimmelfennig F., EU rules beyond EU borders: theorizing external governance in European politics, Journal of European Public Policy 16(6), 2009, 791–812; Schimmelfennig F., Europeanization beyond Europe, Living Reviews in European Governance, Vol. 7, No. 1, 2012}.

[7] {Su cui si veda Del Sarto R., Schumacher T., From EMP to ENP, What’s at Stake with the European Neighbourhood Policy Towards the Southern Mediterranean?, European Foreign Affairs Review, Vol. 10, No. 1, 2005, pp. 17-38, e Noutcheva G. (2015), Institutional Governace of European Neighbourhood Policy in the Wake of the Arab Spring, Journal of  European Integration, 37 (1), pp. 19-36}.

[8] {Cugusi B., Lo strumento Europeo di Partenariato con i paesi vicini: un nuovo quadro di riferimento per gli attori italiani, Working paper workshop: La politica di vicinato. Quali opportunità per l’Italia, Rome, 26 of February 2007}.

[9] {Celata F. Coletti R., Neighbourhood Policy and the Construction of the European External Borders, op.cit., p. 55}.

[10]{da Conceição-Heldt, E., Meunier S., Speaking with a Single Voice: Internal Cohesiveness and External Effectiveness of the EU in Global Governance, Journal of European Public Policy, 21 (7), 2014, pp. 961–979}.

[11]{Telò M., Europe. A civilian power ? European Union, Global Governance, World Order, Palgrave Macmillan, New York, 2006}.

[12] {Manners I., Normative Power Europe: A Contradiction in Terms ?, Journal of Common Market Studies, Vol. 40, No. 2, 2002, pp. 235-258; Manners, I., Diez, T., Reflecting on Normative Power Europe, in Berenskoetter F., Williams M. J.(a cura di), Power in World Politics, Routledge, New York, 2007, pp. 173-188}.

[13] {European Commission, A new response to a changing neighbourhood, COM 2011, 303 final}.

[14] {Pace M., The EU’s interpretation of the ‘Arab Uprisings’: understanding the different visions about democratic change in EU-MENA relations, Journal of Common Market Studies 52, no. 5, 2014, pp. 969–84}

[15] {Bouris D., Schumacher T., The Revised European Neighbourhood Policy. Continuity and Change in EU Foreign Policy, Palgrave MacMillan, London, 2017, pp. 15-17}.

[16] {Brocza S., Paulhart K., EU mobility partnership: a smart instrument for the externalization of migration control, Eur J Futures Res, 3:15, 2015, pp. 1-7}.

[17] {Del Sarto R., Normative Empire Europe: The European Union, its Borderlands and the Arab Spring, Journal of Common Market Studies, Vol. 54, N. 2, 2016, p. 223}.

[18] {Paoletti E., Pastore F., Sharing the dirty job on the Southern Front. Italian-Libyan Relations on Migration and their Impact on European Union, International Migration Institute, IMI Working Papers Series, No. 29., 2010, p. 24}.

[19] {Del Sarto R., Normative Empire Europe: The European Union, its Borderlands and the Arab Spring, op.cit., p.226}.

[20] {Gasiorek M., Introduction and summary, in The Arab Spring: Implications for Economic Integration, Femise-CEPR, 2013, p. 8}

[21]{Baker S., Environmental Values and climate change policy. Contrasting the European Union and the United States, in Lucarelli S., Manners I. (a cura di), Values and principles in European Union foreign policy, Routledge, New York, 2006; Wurzel R., Connelly J., The European Union as a Leader in International Climate Change Politics, Routledge, New York, 2011; Adelle C., Biedenkopf K., Torney D. (a cura di), European Union External Environmental Policy. Rules, Regulation and Governance beyond border, Palgrave MacMillan, Basingstoke, 2018}.


The European Union’s relations with its Mediterranean neighbours of North Africa and Middle East have gone through different phases over the last 25 years, swinging between an impetus of idealism and stages of pragmatic realism.


The European Union’s relations with its Mediterranean neighbours of North Africa and Middle East have gone through different phases over the last 25 years, swinging between an impetus of idealism and stages of pragmatic realism. The end of the Cold War and of a bipolar order marked a shift in International Relations, with a new emphasis posed on multipolar regional schemes. The idea of regional cohesive blocks, united around common historical, geographical and institutional features, gained surprising momentum. The project of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership launched in 1995, during the “Barcelona process”, has fallen short of its ambitious goals, namely the creation of a Mediterranean multilateral dialogue in three crucial fields – economy, security, culture [1]. It is worth stressing that part of the agenda seemed to be too much wishful thinking for the period, given the difficulties to boost reforms in the short term: for instance, few achievements have been so far completed for the definition of a regional Free Trade Area (EU-MEFTA), which was expected within 2010. The establishment of an area of peace and security met only few hurdles, as all the actors involved in the process agreed on the agenda of Valencia EURO-MED conference of foreign ministers (2002) [2]. The convergence of interests at stake in the security sector paved the way to the success of the meeting, whereas minor consensus has been expressed regarding economic and commercial domain.

All these obstacles resulted in a stalemate in the process of Euro-Mediterranean regionalization at the beginning of the last decade. The impasse encouraged EU institutions to carve out new instruments of partnerships. The European Neighbourhood Policy was conceptualized and launched in 2003 for two main reasons: 1) as an answer to the emerging challenges in the broad Mediterranean; 2) as an integration to the “great enlargement” of 2004, which extended EU membership to 10 new States, mostly in the former Soviet sphere of influence. The core strategy at the core of ENP was threefold, as the Communications of the Commission underlined[3]

  1. to boost a deeper economic and commercial cooperation, moving beyond the horizon of a regional trade area and opting instead for bilateral trade agreements. The latter would be defined according to Strategy Papers tailored for each country and implemented through the financial resources earmarked in the European Neighbourhood Partnership Instrument (ENPI);
  2. to prevent the formation of an even larger gap vis-à-vis the new EU neighbours, both Eastern (Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia) and Southern (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel, Palestine National Authority);
  • to strengthen the security field through stricter controls at the external borders, prioritized in the aftermath of the jihadi terrorist attacks of 9/11. Part of literature[4] contends that the ENP drew largely upon the European Security Strategy principles, issued in 2003. Accordingly, the external action of European Union in its eastern and especially in its southern border zone was security-driven, finalized at the protection of economic and commercial prerogatives and based on intensive patrolling and selective mobility.

Although the intention to sketch a homogeneous normative framework, the ENP was necessarily implemented with a variable geometry regarding the two macro-geographical areas and the same countries belonging to each of them. This very diversity pursued the EU decision-makers to find a proper balance between declarations of norms and principles, on one hand, and a target-oriented approach more suitable for the single country, on the other[5]. The functional choice to privilege one sector or another depending on the context has sometimes resulted in a certain incoherence with EU core values (promotion of democratic values, respect of rule of law and human rights). The strategy of “positive conditionality” – a swap between financial incentives and gradual convergence with EU acquis communautaire – produced positive outcomes in sharing best practices in the public sector (security, economic, environment), which was extolled as a successful path by the theorists of “European external governance” and of “Europeanization” in the neighbourhood[6]. Nonetheless, the focus on regulatory and bureaucratic convergence was not followed by the EU willingness to break the ties with autocratic regimes still far away from the communitarian democratic standards[7].

As far as the funds are concerned, it should be noticed that the differences between the ENPI and the previous instrument launched in Barcelona 1995 (the MEDA, for the Mediterranean partners) are very modest indeed[8]. Furthermore, 2/3 of the total amount of financial resources was earmarked for the Mediterranean countries, since the demographic clout was more than double than the Eastern partners[9]. The main sector granted with the majority of the funds is still “economic and development” (40% MEDA, 36% ENPI), whereas a slight inferior percentage has been assigned to “infrastructure” (22% MEDA, 20% ENPI) and to “social sectors” such as health and education (around 20% in both programs). In contrast, it is worth highlighting that these expenditures were significantly higher than the money earmarked for good governance and humanitarian issues.  

Hence, if we want to read the ENP as part of the wider EU foreign actorness, some consequences might be elicited:

  • Even if the EU tries to “speak with one voice”[10], a concerning fragmentation looms behind every policy and strategy, owning to the cacophony of different bureaucratic voices (the DGs of the Commission, the Council, the EEAS) and to the perspectives of each member States;
  • The ENP’s structure is heterogeneous because of the multiple sectors taken into account; however, overwhelming efforts has been made to foster economic and commercial cooperation as well as to enhance security coordination, while the promotion of good governance and democratic reforms have been sorely marginalized;
  • These matters of facts shape a European soft power which appears to be more “civilian” [11] rather than “normative”[12], as the aim to prompt free-trade principles and to gain access to international markets has so far dwarfed the idealistic horizon of exporting democratic values.

The year 2011 represented a turning point in the Euro-Mediterranean partnership. The launch of the Revised European Neighbourhood Policy[13]embodied the attempt to overcome the distortions of the ENP and to rebalance the relations with the Southern partners in a less asymmetric shape. The fresh new start of ENP has to be linked to two influential dynamics, one endogenous and one exogenous to EU.

  1. The reforms brought about by the Lisbon Treaty, which set up the European External Action Service and granted new leverage to the role of the High Representative of Foreign Affairs and Security Policy;
  2. The outbreak of the Arab Spring and of the following regional turmoil, which was considered as the demonstration of European blindness and misunderstandings in front of the aspirations of local people[14].

The chaotic uprisings blown out in some of the North African countries included in the ENP encouraged the EU to elaborate a counter-strategy undergirded by a twofold necessity: improve the benefits for democratization processes and bolster the security of the external borders – as it was previously stated in the Internal Security Strategy of 2010. After a couple of years, the outcome of the Revisited ENP partially belies the alleged will of EU to reshape the partnership on a more equal basis.

  • In terms of democracy promotion, the introduction of a “negative conditionality” is worth stressing, since it completes the “more for more” disposition with a “less for less” principle. This conceptual shift prepares the EU to cut financial aid to those who stall or retrench on agreed reform plans. At the same time, the creation of a Civil Society Facility and of the European Endowment for Democracy was deemed as the sign of a further involvement of local NGOs and of the actors of civil society, fostering a bottom-up approach[15]. Nevertheless, the old Realpolitik which lead the relations with autocratic regimes will be hardly abandoned, given the common security concerns about borders and migration flows, energy supply and the fight against violent extremism.
  • Dealing with security issues, the Revised ENP follows the path traced by the previous policies. The apparent continuity emerges in relation to the management of migration flows and the stress upon the cooperation with neighbours in the joint patrolling of European external borders. The hopes for innovation ushered in by instruments such as the “mobility partnerships” and the new liberalization policies for visa are very selective indeed, since the channels for legal migration and the opportunities for development show all their limits[16]. All else being equal, it would be misleading to dub the EU as an “imperial power” which bear a hegemonic clout amongst the weak neighbourhood[17]. Some selected case studies on the deals between EU Member States and a third country government shed light on a situation of asymmetry in favour of the latter. For instance, when it came to the externalization of controls at the Libyan borders and to the use of migrants as “foreign policy tool” championed by Khadafi[18].
  • Finally, in terms of economic and commercial trade, the external action of European policy-makers has been more concerted and less fragmented amongst the several DGs of the Commission (Trade, Development, ECFIN). Compared to the first tranche of ENPI budgetary fund (12 billion, 2007-2013), 18 billion have been earmarked for the 2014-2020. This amount goes together with the 350 million budget of the SPRING Programme of 2011-2012, launched in turn to support the democratic reforms in third countries. Financial aid is entangled and dependent on the neighbourhood countries’ efforts towards normative convergence with European standards, which some authors consider as a fundamental asymmetric bias[19]. Further, the neoliberal receipts do not automatically ensure the development of Mediterranean Third Countries, as the Barcelona process highlighted. Moving towards a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, suggested to Morocco and Tunisia, would be likely to end up in a short-term failure, due to the urgent structural adjustments to their economies, despite the bright promises of the future. Moreover, only Algeria and Libya among the Southern ENP countries have boasted a commercial surplus with the EU over the last years. Consequently, removing tariffs would undermine the competitiveness of Third Countries’ goods in front of European ones. On the contrary, the EU would keep on excluding from the FTA all the agricultural and industrial products of sensible national interests. This caveat should be carefully scrutinized and put at least on the negotiation table together with the optimistic visions of those who hold that Third Countries will take huge advantages from FTA. In the short term, more benefits will likely occur in other trade and custom unions, such as the Arab Maghreb Union[20].

To sum up, the innovative contents of the Revised ENP seem to be full of rhetorical hopes rather than concrete facts. The EU main interests coincide with two main sectors, namely security of borders and regulatory convergence in support of free trade. This aligns with a certain asymmetry in the mutual partnership with the Southern neighbours, at least according to the version of some critical literature. In both the sectors, the chosen policies hide a pro-European side, visible in the selective “smart borders”, set up by the “mobility partnerships”, as well as in the trade agreements undergirded in European standards and best practices. In spite of this gap, it would be unfair to criticize tout court the EU institutions without bearing in mind the positive intentions and the potential advantages expected in the long term for all the partners.

The ambiguity of EU rhetorical principles, however, raises several doubts around its international actorness and justifies the comments of those who take issue with its external governance, too much embedded in security-concerns and commercial interests and less normative-oriented. This longstanding dilemma wouldn’t be an ideological short-circuit, if the EU had chosen a more pragmatic and disenchanted way to act in international affairs. The normative agenda so far expressed has fell short of its goals in front of the necessity to deal with the Mediterranean turmoil. A more correct narrative would instead underline the achievements of the EU as a “civilian power”, interested in externalizing its economic and commercial model and the benefits of the Single Market – the richest free trade area in the world – and then, at a later stage, committed to endorse democratization process in Third Countries. The recent attempts to introduce a “less for less” conditionality might be read as a more effective strategy.

A proper balance between the European normative impetus and the self-centred promotion of economic and commercial interests can be found as well in the undeniable leadership in global environmental governance and in the policies to mitigate climate change. This domain is worthwhile in terms of core norms to be exported. Besides, the success registered in both European internal and external policies is remarkable[21]. The outcomes will prove to useful and effective in the broad Mediterranean and as a tool of enhanced cooperation between the Northern and the Southern shores, with the shared purpose of tackling climate change harshest consequences in the area – droughts, floods, increasing desertification and degradation of the soil.


Note

[1] {See Aliboni R. (eds.), Partenariato nel Mediterraneo. Percezioni, politiche, istituzioni, FrancoAngeli, Milano, 1998, e Attinà F., Stavridis S. (eds.), The Barcellona Process and Euro-Mediterranean Issues from Stuttgart to Marseille, Giuffré, Milano, 2001}.

[2] {Mugnaini M., Fasi e percorsi della politica UE verso l’area mediterranea: dalla Conferenza di Barcellona alla Union pour la Méditerranée, in Beretta S., Mugnaini M. (a cura di), Politica estera dell’Italia e dimensione mediterranea: storia, diplomazia, diritti, Rubbettino, Soveria Mannelli, 2009, p. 199}.

[3] {European Commission, Wider Europe – Neighbourhood: A New Framework for Relations with our Eastern and Southern Neighbours, Brussels, COM (2003), 104 final; European Commission, European Neighbourhood Policy strategy paper, Brussels, COM (2004) 373}.

[4] {Hadfield A., ENP and EMP. The Geopolitics of “Enlargement Lite”, in Balzacq T. (eds.) – The External Dimension of EU Justice and Home Affairs. Governance, Neighbours, Security, Palgrave Macmillan, London, 2009, pp.  65-107. On the securitization of EU management of migration flows, see Bigo D., Death in the Mediterranean Sea: The results of the three fields of action of European Union Border Controls, in Jansen Y., Celikates R., De Bloois J. (eds.), The Irregularization of Migration in Contemporary Europe: Detention, Deportation, Drowning,Rowman & Littlefield, New York, 2015, pp. 55-70, and Campesi G., Polizia della frontiera. Frontex e la produzione dello spazio europeo, DeriveApprodi, Roma, 2015}.

[5] {Celata F. Coletti R., Neighbourhood Policy and the Construction of the European External Borders, Switzerland, Springer International Publishing, 2015, pp. 4-6}.

[6] {Lavenex S., Schimmelfennig F., EU rules beyond EU borders: theorizing external governance in European politics, Journal of European Public Policy 16(6), 2009, 791–812; Schimmelfennig F., Europeanization beyond Europe, Living Reviews in European Governance, Vol. 7, No. 1, 2012}.

[7] {Del Sarto R., Schumacher T., From EMP to ENP, What’s at Stake with the European Neighbourhood Policy Towards the Southern Mediterranean?, European Foreign Affairs Review, Vol. 10, No. 1, 2005, pp. 17-38, e Noutcheva G. (2015), Institutional Governace of European Neighbourhood Policy in the Wake of the Arab Spring, Journal of  European Integration, 37 (1), pp. 19-36}.

[8] {Cugusi B., Lo strumento Europeo di Partenariato con i paesi vicini: un nuovo quadro di riferimento per gli attori italiani, Working paper workshop: La politica di vicinato. Quali opportunità per l’Italia, Rome, 26 of February 2007}.

[9] {Celata F. Coletti R., Neighbourhood Policy and the Construction of the European External Borders, op.cit., p. 55}.

[10]{da Conceição-Heldt, E., Meunier S., Speaking with a Single Voice: Internal Cohesiveness and External Effectiveness of the EU in Global Governance, Journal of European Public Policy, 21 (7), 2014, pp. 961–979}.

[11]{Telò M., Europe. A civilian power? European Union, Global Governance, World Order, Palgrave Macmillan, New York, 2006}.

[12] {Manners I., Normative Power Europe: A Contradiction in Terms ?, Journal of Common Market Studies, Vol. 40, No. 2, 2002, pp. 235-258; Manners, I., Diez, T., Reflecting on Normative Power Europe, in Berenskoetter F., Williams M. J.(a cura di), Power in World Politics, Routledge, New York, 2007, pp. 173-188}.

[13] {European Commission, A new response to a changing neighbourhood, COM 2011, 303 final}.

[14] {Pace M., The EU’s interpretation of the ‘Arab Uprisings’: understanding the different visions about democratic change in EU-MENA relations, Journal of Common Market Studies 52, no. 5, 2014, pp. 969–84}

[15] {Bouris D., Schumacher T., The Revised European Neighbourhood Policy. Continuity and Change in EU Foreign Policy, Palgrave MacMillan, London, 2017, pp. 15-17}.

[16] {Brocza S., Paulhart K., EU mobility partnership: a smart instrument for the externalization of migration control, Eur J Futures Res, 3:15, 2015, pp. 1-7}.

[17] {Del Sarto R., Normative Empire Europe: The European Union, its Borderlands and the Arab Spring, Journal of Common Market Studies, Vol. 54, N. 2, 2016, p. 223}.

[18] {Paoletti E., Pastore F., Sharing the dirty job on the Southern Front. Italian-Libyan Relations on Migration and their Impact on European Union, International Migration Institute, IMI Working Papers Series, No. 29., 2010, p. 24}.

[19] {Del Sarto R., Normative Empire Europe: The European Union, its Borderlands and the Arab Spring, op.cit., p. 226}.

[20] {Gasiorek M., Introduction and summary, in The Arab Spring: Implications for Economic Integration, Femise-CEPR, 2013, p. 8}

[21] {Baker S., Environmental Values and climate change policy. Contrasting the European Union and the United States, in Lucarelli S., Manners I. (eds.), Values and principles in European Union foreign policy, Routledge, New York, 2006; Wurzel R., Connelly J., The European Union as a Leader in International Climate Change Politics, Routledge, New York, 2011; Adelle C., Biedenkopf K., Torney D. (eds.), European Union External Environmental Policy. Rules, Regulation and Governance beyond border, Palgrave MacMillan, Basingstoke, 2018}.

Copertina: Protesters opposing Egyptian President Mohammed Morsi wave flags in Tahrir Square in Cairo on Wednesday. Shortly afterward, the military staged a coup, ousting Morsi and suspending the constitution. NPR

Ugo Gaudino

Ugo Gaudino

Laureato alla Sapienza in Relazioni Internazionali, ex studente della Scuola Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SSAS), al momento frequento un Master di II livello in "Economia e istituzioni dei paesi islamici" alla Luiss. NEl 2017 ho effettuato un breve soggiorno di studio presso l École normale supérieure di Parigi.
Appassionato di teoria delle relazioni internazionali, di geopolitica e degli studi sulla sicurezza, attualmente concentro le mie ricerche su alcuni paesi dell'area MENA, sulle politiche mediterranee dell'Unione Europea e sulle comunità musulmane in Europa e sul legame tra cambiamenti climatici, migrazioni e sicurezza, .

Vedi tutti gli articoli
Vai alla barra degli strumenti